Future Goals

Strengths:

Lighting to create depth.

Editing for effect.

Vfx.

Finding a shot I like.

Coming up with a story and characters.

I can use technology comfortably.

I have high determination.

I can talk to a crowd of strangers comfortably.

I have a great imagination.

I can draw with both hands simultaneously.

Weaknesses:

Focusing the camera with a moving subject.

My sound recording could be clearer and better planed.

I am normally quite quiet after the ideas generation stage.

Because of my background in acting I can get picky about a characters portrayal when I probably shouldn’t be.

I dislike blogging and loose motivation with it quickly.

Sometimes insanity just sets in and everything is stuffed.

I can get meticulous about an idea.

I don’t write well in terms of spelling and grammar.

I can struggle to articulate ideas to individuals.

Opportunities:

As BFI and BAFTA alumni I get access to lots of opportunities ranging from work experience live exclusive online masterclasses and the ability to contact people to ask for assistance on a film.

I can apply to university to study film in order to experiment more before entering the industry. Doing this will give me more confidence for when I enter the industry so that despite entering at the same position as I would without going to university I wouldn’t be worried about letting my team down.

I can apply for apprenticeship and trainee schemes within the film industry. Doing this can lead straight into the industry which is great for getting both permanent and temporary jobs.

I can apply for work experience to gain hands on experience with various companies. This is useful as it allows me to look at different jobs  and see if i’m looking at the right area.

Threats:

The film industry is notoriously competitive and so I will have to stand out to do well in it.

There are less opportunities in the north of England  than the likes of say London meaning that for the same opportunities I would have to travel.

People can cause a lot of pressure by saying that what i’m doing is good or which can make me feel like i’m getting on peoples nerves (paranoia.)

Short term goals:

Over the next coming year I want to use the time and equipment available to me to improve the quality and production value of my shots, sound recording and editing for narrative. Whilst I do this I would like to grow in confidence and make a film that I am very proud of. I would also like to try making my films slightly more open in the industry in order to gain feedback.

In this project I would like to take on the role of director with a focus on working with actors. Doing this will allow me to work on and improve several of my weaknesses: [I can struggle to articulate ideas to individuals. I am normally quite quiet after the ideas generation stage. Because of my background in acting I can get picky about a characters portrayal when I probably shouldn’t be. I can get meticulous about an idea.]

The strengths this would play to are: [I can talk to a crowd of strangers comfortably. Coming up with a story and characters. I have a great imagination. I have high determination.] Because of this my skill should allow me to achieve this film and allow me the time to work on my weaknesses.

Im no clairvoyant, but In 10 years time I see myself making a fictional film working towards a directors position with studio backing. In my spare time I will be filming my own short films and working on off the wall projects like the wings i’m currently building.

About kitjaytaylor

Film student
This entry was posted in unit 11, Year 2 Films. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

