Unit 11 Online Presence

Vimeo:

screen-shot-2017-02-07-at-10-03-08-am

Vimeo is a social media video platform that has been around since 2004, where you can share high definition videos and watch others videos. The paid plan of Vimeo allows you to network directly with industry professionals and the filmmakers who’s work you really like. Vimeo can have connections with most of your social media accounts such as Facebook Twitter and Instagram. This means that anyone who follows you on one will be able to easily navigate to your other accounts giving you more web traffic and therefor making you more likely to appear on google search engines and get work opportunities. Vimeo is a more professional platform than most as it doesn’t have adverts and it allows for better quality videos due to its low compression rate.Screen Shot 2017-02-07 at 10.54.48 AM.png

In my Vimeo I have put my best videos up so that anyone who finds my account from a link or search engine can see what I do so they can see if they like my work and if they do they can get in touch with opportunity’s and feedback. For the layout of my Vimeo i made sure that the only videos showing are my best works in a vague order that links between how recently its made and its overall quality.

Bio:

As a filmmaker I cover all aspects of film from directing to acting and VFX. In the future I hope to create my own fictional captivating stories and turn my old favorites such as ‘The Chronicles of Ancient Darkness’ into masterpieces that will intrigue audiences. I also aim to go through university before joining a production company and working my way up.

A Bio is a short statement that can be put on a website or profile that will concisely tell people who you are and what you do. This makes it easy for people who are seeking your service to know what you offer. My Bio tells people about the areas of film I cover and the sort of films I want to be working on so they know what to expect and if they have opportunity’s that may interest me

Website:

Screen Shot 2017-02-07 at 10.43.39 AM.png

A website is probably the most professional way to set out your work and try and get jobs. By having a website I can arrange my work however I desire with titles information and links to other sites. A website (if laid out correctly) will have a professional look to it that will encourage people to choose you over competition. Websites are a good way to showcase your best work and let employers know what they can expect quality wise.

My website has widgets to all my social media accounts as well as a cover page using a show-reel video in the background to help display my work. On the page the user can easily navigate by either scrolling or using the menu to my videos, bio and contact forum. this is done because the websites I looked at all followed this pattern so it was evidently working. in particular what I took from those websites is that they tend to have a very clean looking setup where things are setup in a grid pattern and are centralised so that a very specific topic is being addressed and there is nothing to take your focus from that (no adverts)

YouTube:

Screen Shot 2017-02-07 at 10.17.22 AM.png

YouTube is one of the most popular websites in the world (2nd most popular website globally as of December 2016 behind google {YouTube’s owners}) this means that there is a massive opportunity to get your work seen especially if you embed the videos in other sites and add tags. YouTube means that you have a lot of competition however you can treat your account as a channel like BBC 1.

My YouTube is mistreated to be honest it is where I store my videos and rough edits for evaluations and so forth. To use it properly I should clean up which videos are up there, add tags so that videos can be found and add links to my various social media accounts Facebook and Instagram.

Twitter:

untitled

Twitter allows you to write short statements and share them with the world it is a good way to share video links and have it seen by anyone. again with twitter you are able to link things to other social media by tweeting a link. On my own twitter I share Vimeo links and put a couple of film making tags so that anyone who searches ‘filmmaker’ can see my posts.

About kitjaytaylor

Film student
This entry was posted in unit 11, Year 2 Films. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

