Unit 11 Ucas Application

Screen Shot 2017-02-07 at 11.40.49 AM.png

_________________________________________________________________

Screen Shot 2017-02-07 at 11.49.29 AM.png

Statement: On leaving school, I persuaded my parents to let me attend Kendal College to do a Level 3 Extended Diploma in Creative Media.and Film Production.  The four hours travelling daily this involves, the regular stop overs in youth hostels and leaving my school friends behind has been hard but definitely worth it.  Kendal college is rated as an outstanding college by ofsted and is ranked as one of the best in the country for the arts with good reason.  I have been very privileged to of  had two amazing tutors who have encouraged me to experiment with a wealth of different equipment and to try out different techniques and film styles.  My tutors have shown me how to plan, research and evaluate my work in a way that encourages you to continually improve.  I have enjoyed working individually on projects and collaboratively to bring mine and others stories to life, taking on a whole range of cast and crew roles.  I feel I have really grown up at college and am able to direct my own learning even better than before.  I am able to promote myself better and have become quietly much more assertive. I have particularly enjoyed  the following :-  volunteering to film the performing arts students doing ‘Made in Dagenham’, taking part in the Kendal  Comic Arts Festival 2016 and making a trailer for the festival, reaching the semi finals of World skills with a team of my peers, volunteering at the Kendal Mountain Film Festival 2016.

Regularly stopping at the youth hostel on my own in Kendal also has had  unexpected benefits.  I now have more confidence that I can take care of myself and it meant I could attend  contemporary ballet classes and a youth theatre at the Brewery Arts Center where I have made lots of new friends.

Whilst doing my first year at college, I  was also very fortunate to gain a place on the  BFI Academy in Barrow in Furness with  Signal Films and Media. This gave me the chance to work with  professionals working in the industry and to experience being a Director. I was delighted  at being allowed to do the VFX for the final film completely on my own and was credited for this.

When I am not in Kendal, I relish catching up with my old friends and keep fit by attending my local Karate club where I have studied for 10 years to become a black belt and instructor. I have won several trophies with the club.

You will find me a very conscientious, hard working, enthusiastic and polite student. I am a brilliant team player and have been told I have a gift for bringing people together and making sure everyone is included. I feel that university will give me the time and freedom I need to explore all aspects of the industry further, to experiment more, make mistakes and learn from them and to network. I also feel my life will be enriched by my being exposed to a more diverse range of cultures and from being able to continue with my extracurricular interests.  I am applying to your university because your staff have relevant experience and because it is clear you value the subject and have great links with the industry.

 

UCAS is an application medium that allows you to send all your details to up to 5 separate universities / higher education establishments. From my applications I have received 4/4 offers for film and television production this is going to allow me to advance my skills in each area of film thus allowing me to discover my favourite area and develop it within a learning environment. At university I hope to be forward in my networking and make some great industry connections. My alternative roots were to apply for apprenticeships and real jobs or go freelance. The reason I have decided to follow the university root is because with it being educational it has a safety net that I would like to keep until I feel happier about working professionally, however I would like to be working whilst i’m at university so that I will gain credits and be living and breathing film.

About kitjaytaylor

Film student
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, unit 11, Year 2 Films. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

